Southwest announces 15 post-Wright Amendment Dallas Love routes

By Michael Garko, In Airline News

On Monday, Southwest announced 15 new destinations that it will finally be able to service nonstop from Dallas after decades of restrictions at its home airport.

Since 1979, Southwest and other airlines have been restricted to serving destinations in just nine American states from Love Field in Dallas (Texas, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Alabama, and Mississippi) as a provision of the Wright Amendment, which was designed to protect the newer Dallas Fort Worth International Airport from competition.

Courtesy Southwest Airlines

Courtesy Southwest Airlines

On October 13, that will change with the expiration of the provision.

TRENDING: United announces it will de-hub Cleveland
RELATED: Southwest to finally go international with own planes

Southwest will launch flights to focus cities in Baltimore-Washington, Denver, Las Vegas, Orlando, and Chicago-Midway starting October 13.

In addition to the focus cities, Southwest will add nonstop service Atlanta, Nashville, Washington-Reagan, Fort Lauderdale, Los Angeles, New York-La Guardia, Phoenix, San Diego, Orange County (CA), and Tampa starting November 2.

The significant expansion will mean Southwest will operate flights to 31 destinations from Dallas to all areas of the country.

More updates throughout the day…

FACEBOOK: Follow In Airline News on Facebook
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER: @inairlinenews

2 thoughts on “Southwest announces 15 post-Wright Amendment Dallas Love routes

  1. Pingback: Korean Air announces 12th US destination | In Airline News

  2. Pingback: AirTran brand to vanish by end of 2014 | In Airline News

Comments are closed.